Reviews

My Love From The Star: The Good, The Bad, and The Terribly Annoying

Apparently, My Love From The Star is the Top 1 KDrama for a lot of people. I guess that makes sense since it perfectly marries romance and comedy, and has the mystery and scifi on the side. While I mostly loved this series, there were a few things that prevented it from being my favorite Kdrama ever. LOL.

Spoilers and tiny GIFs ahead.

My Love From The Star: The Good, The Bad, and The Terribly Annoying Parts

[Good][1 of 7] Definitely that opening sequence.

opening-sequence
Aesthetic!

I’m not a fan of historical works (dramas, movies, books) so I was a bit turned off by the start of this show. Good thing I saw this scene early on.

[Good][2 of 7] Kim Soo Hyun / Do Min Joon

joseon
“Excuse me, leaf.”

Let’s get it out of the way. This KDrama was 100% more appealing because the lead male is not only a super powered 400-year old alien, he’s also very very attractive. For me, at least. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

[Good][3 of 7] Jun Ji Hyun / Cheon Song Yi

sorry
SAWWRY. 💁

I didn’t really like the idea of a top actress being the leading lady, because who could relate to a girl who eats HALF A LETTUCE LEAF* FOR THE ENTIRE DAY??? She was also portrayed as so unbelievably dumb in the first few minutes of the show so I was all set to hate her.

diet
*Not just a lettuce leaf, apparently.

But she’s. JUST. SO. FUNNY. I ended up liking her, too. Just not as much as Kim Soo Hyun.

[Good][4 of 7] All my favorite genres in one series.

opening-sequence-02
Ooh, transitions!

Comedy? Mystery? Sci-Fi? OTT Romance? All checked off the checklist. I now understand why everybody recommends this series for KDrama newbies.

[Good][5 of 7] SUPERPOWERS!

car
Where’s your cape, Do Min Joon?

Who doesn’t love super powers! Also, I loved how smoothly Do Min Joon does his abilities, as though enhanced hearing, levitation, time manipulation, telekinesis, teleportation, and foresight came naturally to him. As it should, now that I think of it. You go, Kim Soo Hyun Do Min Joon.

[Good][6 of 7] Cute kissing scenes!

first-kiss

petit-france

snow-kiss

[Good][7 of 7] Engaging Minor Characters

This is for:

Younger Brother Yoon Jae, who shares the same name as one of my favorite Reply 1997 characters(!!).

yoon-jae
HYUUUUNG!!

Lawyer Jang, Do Min Joon’s first and only friend

lawyer-jang
Look, you’re number 2!

Bok Ja (& her crew), Cheon Song Yi’s friend from high school

bok-ja
Heh.

and Cheon Song Yi’s mom, who was really annoying but had me hooked as well.

mommy
“Cheon Song Yi MAAAAMMY~”

Speaking of Minor Characters, let’s move on to the Bad Parts…

[Bad][1 of 3] GAH, I HATED THE SECOND LEADS. BOTH OF THEM.

second-leads
You should just both go home.

I usually catch the Second Lead Syndrome, but *googles name of that guy* Lee Hee Kyung and Yoo Se Mi were just boring characters for me. Especially Hee Kyung. Plus he was only cute in the high school flashbacks.

young
I can’t imagine how he grew up to look so… unlike how he looked.

Fun fact: I recognized Se Mi while watching Goblin. I liked her there.

se-mi-goblin
Hi, Se Mi!!!

[Bad][2 of 3] Damsel in Distress Cliche

save-me
(Disclaimer: this is my favorite post-credits scene. Hehe.)

I hated how Cheon Song Yi always had to be saved. How many times did she go to the hospital? A whole lot, I tell you.

[Bad][3 of 3] Multiple Title Translations
(I’m really just making excuses now)

yay
Have an irrelevant GIF.

Should I call it You (Who Came?) From The Stars? My Love From Another Star? I wish they had it standardized so I wouldn’t have to be so confused.


And finally, for the Terribly Annoying Part:

[Terribly Annoying] ALL. THE. BACK. AND. FORTH.

sad
All this unnecessary heartbreak

It was fun to watch that teenage angst for a while, but after some time, it just became so tiring for me. Please get your Happily Ever After already!!!!

red-carpet-kiss
S Q U E E E E

Overall, My Love From The Star ranks high on my short list of watched KDramas. I’d say it’s definitely in the Top 3 for now. You should totally watch it if you haven’t, because I hear they’re planning a second season. No Kim Soo Hyun, though. 😢

All scenes (c) SBS / tvN

To end this overly long list, I’d like to leave you with a question:

WHO SHOWERS WITH THEIR TOWEL ON?

shower

Do Min Joon, that’s who.

5 thoughts on “My Love From The Star: The Good, The Bad, and The Terribly Annoying

  1. Omg Jenny hahaha super love your review!!! But you forgot to put the musical scoring (part of the good) and the END CREDITS SCENES WITH THE MINI STORIES (did you watch them all??? Please tell me you did til the end of each ep!!)

    Anyway I’m going to be biased here. Huge chunk of why this drama tops my (short) list is because I found my own (love from another star) Do Min Joon while watching this show 😍😍😍 hahahaha. K yun lang!!! Just had to comment.

    Anddd I’m so happy you’re loving the world of kdrama (I think you’ve watched way more than me now! 😉) and hi, hello to you who’s reading this, I think you should watch this show!!!!!!!!!! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I only realized they had end credit scenes about midway (I left the video running in the background and I was like, hmm they sound like they’re still talking) so I went back and re-watched everything!!! Hahahaha.

      I love your story, Banana!! 💖 And I haven’t watched a lot of KDramas yet! It’s funny nga, my sister tells me that she never expected me to be into KDramas 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

