Reviews

5 Things I Learned From Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

Really, this is just a list of my top 5 favorite scenes from this show, all phrased as “How To Do This Thing They Did In Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo”. While I have nearly zero* common interests with Bok Joo, I really liked this series. Everyone was super cute.

Tiny GIFs and spoilers ahead.

5 Things I Learned From Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

5. How To Eat At Lot (not that I’d need help with that)

bfn-5
BBQ. Fried Rice. Naengmyeon. SWAG.

A few days after I watched this show, I couldn’t think about SUHWEEG without smiling. HAHAHAH. SUHWEEG.

Also, Nan Hee is my spirit animal. 💁 *hair flip* 💁

4. How To Threaten Effectively

cafe-4.gif
YOU DIE! I KILL YOU!!

WE FEEL YA, GIRL. #NotReally #ButReallyReally

3. How To Make Someone Stay

rooftop-3
“You don’t look ugly from this angle.” 😂

I really liked this part. I’m constantly amused at how these Koreans tend to end up in the unlikeliest situations and places.

2. How To Meet Nice People

2-umbrella
Do you like Messi?

Before you complain, YEP I know that isn’t the Messi scene. Because we both watched the series, yes? But does it not fit into the scene thooooo.

Also: don’t fall in love with the nice people you meet (!!).

1. How To Choose An Athlete 

pool-1
HINT: Pick swimmers. Or weightlifters.

Very timely, this morning I encountered a couple of swimmers at Ultra. Very similar build. 💯

And MOST IMPORTANTLY: His hair looks so sexy pushed back. Will you please tell him his hair looks sexy pushed back?


I’m glad I gave this show a try! I’d like to thank mostly my buddy Jored (who introduced this to me) and the 13 other respondents of this survey who still recommended WFKBJ despite the fact that I’d already watched it.

At first I was hesitant to watch Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo because of its low ratings in Korea (according to my sister, at least). But apparently that’s because it was up against Legend of the Blue Sea, with Lee Min Ho & the actress who plays Cheon Song Yi in My Love From The Star.

rate
Hello from SBS 👋🏻

*Which reminds me – Bok Joo and I actually have one(-half) thing in common:

kim-soo-hyun-question

UM, KIM SOO HYUN, SYEMPRE.

kim-soo-hyun
[Edit (2017-04-22) HUHUHU I CHANGED MY MIND SONG JOONG KI 5EVER]
There ya go. Clearly, I’m still on a My Love From The Star hangover LOL.

All scenes (c) MBC / SBS

Have some kiddie Joon Hyung on your way out. BYERS.

kiddie

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned From Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

Leave a Reply

